Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Parity by Division

Major League Baseball has six divisions. All six divisions have won the World Series since 2001:

NL West: D'Backs ('01)
NL Central: Cardinals ('06)
NL East: Marlins ('03), Phillies ('08)
AL West: Angels ('02)
AL Central: White Sox ('05)
AL East: Red Sox ('04 and '07), Yankees ('09)

In fact, from '01 to '06, there were six Series. All six divisions won once.

The NBA also has six divisions. No team currently in the Northwest Division has won a championship since the Thunder (who were then the Seattle Sonics) won in 1979.